Mega Sports Events of 2011 – ICC Cricket World cup 2011 and its Updates

The icc cricket world cup is the most popular premier international championship of men’s One Day International (ODI) cricket. The event is organized by the sport’s governing body that is the ICC, the International Cricket Council, with preliminary qualification rounds leading up to a finals tournament which is held every four years. This tournament is counted as the world’s fourth largest and most viewed sporting event. According to the ICC, it is the most oldest and important tournament and the pinnacle of achievement in the sport. The first Cricket World Cup contest was organized in the England in year 1975. There is a separate Women’s Cricket World Cup which has been held every four years since year 1973.

THE 2011 icc cricket world cup schedule has been unveiled. India will play against Bangladesh in the opening match in Dhaka on February 19, while Australia, the world champion will take on Zimbabwe on February 21. The World Cup 2011 will comprise of total 49 matches and will be a 43-day mega show.

India will host total 29 matches at 8 venues, while the Sri Lanka is hosting 12 matches in 3 venues and Bangladesh will host 8 matches. The final of this ICC world cup match tournament will be played in Mumbai and 14 teams will fight for the prestigious cup.

There are two teams have been divided in two groups.
Group A:
1.   Australia
2.   Pakistan
3.   New Zealand
4.  Sri Lanka
5.   Zimbabwe
6.  Canada, Kenya.

Group B:
1.   Bangladesh
2.   England
3.   India
4.   Ireland South Africa
5.   West Indies
6.   Netherlands.

The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup will be the world’s tenth Cricket World Cup and will be hosted by three South Asian Test cricket playing countries: India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. It will be first time when Bangladesh’s co-hosting a Cricket World Cup. The World Cup will include the cricket’s One Day International format, with fourteen national cricket teams scheduled to compete. The World Cup will be scheduled in between February and early April 2011, with the first match to be played on 19 February 2011 with co-hosts India and Bangladesh facing off at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur.

The 43-day tournament which is set and to be held in the Indian sub-continent region will be co-hosted by joint efforts of our own team India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. The ICC World Cup Central Organizing Committee has given away over 1 lakh cricket world cup tickets as part of its first phase of online ticket sales. The ticket fares are the most interesting part as to note as well as a bit surprising to believe. Yes, surprising because tickets available in the country Sri Lanka are in the range of Rs.9 or roughly 20 cents to Rs.1800. In India, it could cost you minimum Rs.100 and if you’re one of those who are very wealthy guys who could afford luxury tickets, you could as well opt for those Rs.15000 worth of tickets also. 123newyear gives all details about ICC cricket world cup, cricket world cup dates, cricket world cup 2011, ICC cricket world cup schedule, cricket world cup tickets and more.

Again icc cricket world cup ready to rocking you, get info of cricket world cup 2011, match schedule, tickets, cricket world cup dates, countries, players and more.

Related Bangladesh Cricket Articles

Leave a Reply